Digital India: N Vijaya Lakshmi gets top award for e-NAM initiative

As on December 31, more than 1.74 crore farmers & 2.39 lakh traders have been registered on e-NAM portal of the ministry of agriculture and farmers' welfare and carried out businesses worth ₹2.42 lakh crore so far

e-NAM Digital India award

New Delhi: The Union ministry of agriculture and farmers welfare (MoAFW) has won the platinum award for its e-NAM initiative in the ‘digital empowerment of citizens category’ at the Digital India Awards ceremony held in New Delhi on Saturday.

President of India Droupadi Murmu, who was chief guest of the event, has conferred the award to N Vijaya Lakshmi, joint secretary, MoAFW, for her leading role in the success of electronic-national agriculture market (e-NAM) in presence of Union ministry of electronics & information technology (MeitY) and railways Ashwini Vaishnav. Vijaya Lakshmi is an Indian administrative service (IAS) officer of Bihar cadre and currently posted in the MoAFW.

Also Read: Next phase of growth in India: Potential for farm & rural renaissance

e-NAM is a digital platform integrating 1260 agriculture produce & livestock marketing committee (APMC mandis) across 22 States and three Union Territories to facilitate online trading of 203 agriculture and horticulture commodities to enable farmers to realize better remunerative prices for their produce. e-NAM is catalysing the digital transformation of mandi operations and e- trading of agricultural commodities. As on December 31, 2022, more than 1.74 crore farmers & 2.39 lakh traders have been registered on e-NAM portal. A total trade consisting of 69 million metric tonnes of worth ₹2.42 lakh crore has been recorded on e-NAM platform.

Digital India awards (DIA) has been instituted by MeitY, under the aegis of the National Portal of India to encourage and honour innovative digital solutions/ exemplary initiatives by various government entities in the realm of digital governance.

The Transport Mission Mode Project (eTransport) and Judgment Search Portal have received gold and silver prizes under the digital empowerment of citizen category.

e-Vivechna App (Madhya Pradesh), DeGS Computer Basic Training (Jharkhand) and Ksheerasree Portal (Kerala) have received prizes under Digital Initiatives at Grassroots Level category. Likewise, Mine Mitra of Uttar Pradesh, e-abkari of Odisha and Invest Punjab have received the top prizes for digital initiatives in ease of doing business category.

Also Read: National agribusiness meet offers models to maximise farm return

The Smart Cities Mission of the ministry of housing and urban affairs, Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) and Center for e-governance (Karnataka) have received prizes for their excellance in data sharing and use for socio economic development category.

Duare Sarkar (West Bengal) and e-Services (Manipur) were recoganised as outstanding initiatives under Public Digital Platforms and thereby won the prizes under the states’ categories, while ICEGATE Portal and eShram have won the awards under the Central ministry section.

The top awards for digital initiatives in collaboration with startups were given away to Digital Workforce Management System (Kerala), Smart Nutrient Management of the Soil (Telangana) and Digital Deposit Refund System (Uttarakhand).

The websites of Bilaspur district (Chhattisgarh), Kottayam district (Kerala) and the Central Institute of Petrochemicals Engineering & Technology (CIPET) have been rated the best among web & mobile initiatives complying with GIGW & accessibility guidelines and received the prizes.

Previous articleAir India grounds crew over man peeing on woman incident
Next articleUGC’s dilly-dallying set to cost autonomy of two Ranchi’s colleges


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here