NTPC Barauni wins national water award in best industry category

Vice President Jagdeep Dhankhar gave away the national awards for water resources conservation and management to outstanding institutions in 41 categories

national water awards

New Delhi: NTPC Barauni has achieved a significant milestone by securing the first rank in the esteemed national award for water resources conservation and management. The ministry of jal shakti, Government of India, bestowed this prestigious accolade upon NTPC Barauni in the best industry category.

The award was presented by Vice President Jagdeep Dhankhar to Gurdeep Singh, chairman and managing director, NTPC, and Rajeev Khanna, head of project, NTPC Barauni in presence of Union jal shakti minister Gajendra Singh Shekhawat in New Delhi on June 17. This recognition highlights NTPC’s unwavering commitment and exceptional efforts in the conservation and management of water resources.

NTPC’s pursuit of sustainable practices and dedication to environmental stewardship have played a crucial role in achieving this remarkable feat. The company has implemented a series of innovative initiatives to conserve and manage water resources effectively. NTPC’s efforts have not only resulted in significant water savings but also reduced its environmental footprint.

Also Read: Centre mulls plan to strengthen water testing facilities in villages

This prestigious recognition from the ministry of jal shakti further strengthens NTPC’s commitment to sustainable practices and encourages the company to continue its efforts towards preserving and managing water resources effectively. NTPC remains dedicated to its mission of contributing to the nation’s growth while embracing environmentally friendly practices.

Andhra Pradesh wins four awards

Andhra Pradesh has bagged four out of 41 national water awards in various categories. It was adjudged the third best state in spreading awareness among people on the importance of water and motivate them to adopt best water-use practices. Principal secretary (water resources department) Sashibhushan Kumar and engineer-in-chief C Narayana Reddy received the award on behalf of the state.

KGBV School, Chagalamarri, Nandyal, got the second best school award; CCL Products India Limited, Tirupati, shared the third best industry award with Apollo Tyres Limited, Kancheepuram, Tamil Nadu; and Accion Fraterna Ecology Centre, Anantapur, got the special mention prize under the best NGO category.

Vaishno Devi shrine board wins 1st prize

The Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Shrine Board (SMVDSB) has secured a hat-trick of winning the first prize in the ‘national water awards’ for the promotion of water conservation and proper management of water, officials said.

The shrine board bagged the ‘best institution for campus usage’ award in the fourth national water awards, they said.

Bihar gets 3rd prize in best states’ category

Bihar Rural development secretary N Saravana Kumar & Jal Jeevan Hariyali mission director Rahul Kumar at award function

Bihar bagged the third prize in the national water awards among the best states for water conservation and management. Secretary of rural development, Bihar, N Saravana Kumar and mission director, Jal-Jeevan-Hariyali mission, Rahul Kumar, received the award from the Vice President. Officials said that the award has been bestowed up on Bihar in recognition to the water-use management and conservation under the Jal-Jeevan-Hariyali mission, which is making the state resilient to climate change.

Previous articleRaj Bhavan, Bihar govt lock horn over launch of 4-yr degree course
Next articleKarnataka CM writes to Centre for setting up AIIMS at Raichur


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here